In addition to winners and honorable mentions in each of the seven competitive categories, the Fargo Film Festival presents a number of Best in Show honors as well as several special awards.

Best in Show Awards
* Best Actor
* Best Actress
* Best Cinematography
* Best Director
* Best Picture
* Best Screenplay

Competitive Category Awards
* Best Animated Film
* Bill Snyder Award for Best Documentary Feature
* Best Documentary Short
* Best Experimental Film
* Best Narrative Feature
* Best Narrative Short
* Best Student Film

Special Awards
* Margie Bailly Volunteer Spirit Award
* Rusty Casselton Award
* Ruth Landfield Award
* Ted M. Larson Award
* Prairie Spirit Award
* 2-Minute Movie Contest